Leadership Team: 

Coalition President: 

Julie Novak 

Vice President of Child Safety

Big Brothers Big Sisters of America

Julie Novak joined Big Brothers Big Sisters of America in 2004. As Vice President of Child Safety, she serves as Big Brothers Big Sisters of America’s leading expert and national spokesperson on child safety and youth protection-related matters. She le

ads the nationwide advancement of effective child abuse prevention and crisis response strategies throughout BBBS’ network, working collaboratively with other national experts from organizations.

Vice President: 

Tiffany Sawyer

Director of Prevention Services

Georgia Center for Child Advocacy

Tiffany Sawyer joined the Georgia Center for Child Advocacy as the Director of Prevention Services in 2006.  In her capacity at the Georgia Center, Tiffany oversees the Center’s statewide abuse prevention initiative which has trained over 100,000 adults.  Prior to her work in Georgia she worked as the Associate Director of Programs at Darkness to Light, a national non-profit for the prevention of child sexual abuse.  While at Darkness to Light, she assisted in the creation of the Stewards of Children training curriculum and helped to launch the program on national and international levels.  Tiffany currently serves as the Vice President on the National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation.  She was appointed by Governor Nathan Deal in August 2014 to serve on the Georgia Child Fatality Review Panel.  She has twice served as a Committee Chair for the Georgia Human Trafficking Taskforce led by the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council and previously by the Governor’s Office for Children and Families.  Sawyer served as a core team member of the SAMHSA-MacArthur Foundation Policy Academy-Action Network Initiative: Improving Diversion Polices and Programs for Justice-Involved Youth with Behavioral Health Disorders.  Tiffany has conducted over 500 trainings and presentations both nationally and internationally throughout her career.

Immediate Past President: 

Catherine Townsend
Formerly with Darkness to Light 

Catherine Townsend has been associated with Darkness to Light since its founding in 2000. As Grants, Research, and National Strategy Manager, she serves as liaison to other national organizations, researchers, and experts. She is responsible for Darkness to Light's national legislative advocacy efforts, internal research, external evaluation, grant acquisition, and grant management. 


Teresa Rafael

Executive Director

National Alliance of Children's Trust & Prevention Funds

Teresa Rafael, has been Executive Director of the National Alliance of Children’s Trust and Prevention Funds since 2002.  She has more than 35 years of professional experience in the child abuse and neglect prevention field, ranging from working for eight years with child protective services, foster care and adoption in her early career to extensive work in the private non-profit child abuse and neglect prevention field.

Additional Steering Committee Members:

Communications Committee Co-Chairs: Adrienne Hoffman-Lewis and Julie Patrick

Membership Committee Co-Chairs: Janet Rosenzweig and Keith Kaufman

Policy Committee Co-Chairs: Jetta Bernier and Nicole Epps

Past Presidents:

2017: Cathy Townsend (retired) National Children's Advocacy Center

2016: Les Nicols (retired) Boys and Girls Clubs of America

2015: Jim Hmurovich (retired) Prevent Child Abuse America

2014: Karen Baker, National Sexual Violence Resource Center

2013: Maia Christopher, Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers

2012: Deborah Callins (retired) National Children's Advocacy Center

2005 - 2011: Cordelia Anderson, Sensibilities, Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software